First time Momma Rabbit... Yikes!

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by MaggieJ, Jul 19, 2006.

1. MaggieJ

MaggieJ Well-Known Member Supporter

Up until now, our two experienced does have kindled successfully, so I have no experience with kindling problems.

My junior doe, Rosamund, gave birth yesterday morning - Day 33, counting the breeding day as Day One. She had six kits, three on the wire and three in the box. Two of the ones on the wire were dead when I went down in the morning and the third was cool but alive. I warmed him up for a bit and then put him in the nestbox with the other two live kits. There was also a dead kit in the nest box, still half inside the membrane. There seemed more placental material and blood spots about, but perhaps the rabbits usually dispose of it before I get there. Rosamund seems fine, very perky in fact.

Rosamund had eagerly played in the nest box and seemed to be making a nest when I gave her the nest box on Day 28. But when she kindled, she just seemed to randomly drop the babies anywhere.

She did not pull fur. I tried pulling fur for her, but she became agitated and started jumping about and I was afraid she would trample the babies. No one was handy at the time to help me by restraining her, so I put in some goose feathers - not pure down because I thought it might cause breathing problems, but small soft feathers with a bit of down on the shafts. This worked wonderfully well and they are snuggled down in their little nest and seem to be comfortable.

I'm not sure if she is feeding them. I usually don't handle the kits this young, just make sure they are all living. These kits seem on the small side. The ones that died were larger. However, these are active when I check on them and are beginning to show a haze of fur.

Rosamund is not at all protective of them. I'm used to momma rabbits who get uptight when you try to touch the nest. I know that rabbits new to motherhood often do not do well the first time.