first litter ever!!

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by buckmaster, Nov 30, 2005.

1. buckmaster

buckmaster Lover of Animals

today when i went outside to feed my buns i found the female rabbit that i did not think was pregnant kindled over night. the reason i did not think she was pregnant was, she did not even make a nest and that was what i was waiting for so i could put the nest box in because even when it was in all she did was use it to go to the bathroom. Yesterday evening when i went to check up on my rabbits i noticed that there was blood from the female. i thought she cut herself on something. but it turns out she was pregnant and had 5 babies. i feel so responsible even though i knew that the first time litter of any doe is not too good. this was my first litter ever and the doe's also. hope she takes care of them next time. can't wait till the spring because since i am a student and it is in the winter i can not care and manage/worry about a litter in the winter. i bred my two other does hoping to get their disastrous litter out of the way. they are due around the 10th of December. just wondering how you all's first litter came out and how you all are doing now.
    all for now buckmaster

2. BearCreekFarm

BearCreekFarm Well-Known Member

Whoa, Buckmaster- you need to put the nest box in before she starts making a nest, preferably 4-5 days ahead of the expected due date.

Hey, I read that back and realized I sounded like a jerk- sorry, didn't mean to.

I recall that I, too, got some bad advice which resulted in our losing our first litter.