Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this is my first time hunting black bear. Ive done tons of research on bear behavior, feeding habits, etc., and been scouting like crazy. I was curious if anyone had any tips that might be helpful. Especially in southwest colorado. I plan on doing spot and stalk for the first few days if that doesn't work I may sit in a stand the last couple days.

·
If I need a Shelter
21,532 Posts
Always just Baited or run with Hounds but its been awhile. I'd rather Bait if I have the time.

big rockpile

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
I went to Maine and the stands were baited,, Going to Bear hunt Pa. this year and baiting is illegal,have to still hunt from a blind..

·
Registered
863 Posts
I went to Maine and the stands were baited,, Going to Bear hunt Pa. this year and baiting is illegal,have to still hunt from a blind..
I lived in and hunted NE Pa. for quite a while. The vast majority of "legal" bear are harvested with a gaggle of guys (20 to 50 or 60 individuals at times)doing a drive through a swampy area. I have always hated driving game and if you have not been with the group for quite a long time you will be one of the drivers and not a shooter.

Some say they set up a blind or tree stand after finding the perfect spot. You have to be real lucky to get one doing it that way without illegally baiting. The closest I have ever come to harvesting a bear in a blind was when a bear came bounding down the trail in my direction and was just 25 feet away before he noticed me standing there. Unfortunately for me, but fortunately for the bear, it was three days before the season opened and I had just finished setting up the portable blind.

Others that I have know set up near restaurant and/or resort dumpsters. I have never wanted to shoot a dumpster bear. It is akin to fishing in a barrel. That is how that 800+ pounder was harvested a few years ago in NE Pa.