Fire Starting - an art...

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Wolf mom, Nov 15, 2005.

1. Wolf mom

Wolf mom Well-Known Member

I'm still learning. I've searched the web, and now I'm here, again.

I have a wood stove and am using very old windfall wood, mostly cedar. I seem to have a hard time getting enough air inside the box. I just had a wood stove installer out who put in a heat exchanger & everything is suppose to be good to go.

My thoughts are turning to the wood. It seems to have a lot of dirt in/on it. Is this what is making it hard to start/burn? :confused:

Can I power wash it, let it dry & use it or is it just best to pile it in the garden, have a bonfire & spread the ashes?? ( sounds like we need some funeral music here) :eek:

Money is real short right now, so buying a couple cords is not really feasable at this time.

Any suggestions, options, hints???

As usual, I'm very grateful for any information. :clap:

2. Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever Life NRA Member since 1976 Supporter

I can’t imagine too much dirt on firewood. If the firewood you’re using is dry, then the dirt must be dry also….right? Just smack two pieces of wood together to as you bring them into the house to get most of the dirt off.

Try this little experiment. Use some of the firewood outside and see it you can easily start a campfire with it. If you can, it’s probably a stove problem. If you can’t start a campfire, it’s probably a wood problem.

Make sure that you’re not closing the fire door too soon. Whenever we start a fire, we keep the doors of the woodstove cracked open for 15 to 20 minutes to insure that the fire is getting sufficient air. Once the fire is blazing, then we’ll shut the doors tight.

3. Jen H

Jen H Well-Known Member