Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, so i have a question, and any info would be much appreciated!

Me and my fiancé are looking into starting the journey of homesteading! She works as a pharmacy tech and makes 39,000 a year. I work as a behavioral therapist. Our goals are for me to stop work and work on the homestead full time. We would like 2 pigs, a few rabbits, about 10 chickens, and a goat or 2. We live in ontario, canada. My first question is, is it possible to homestead and live off of her income? And the second question would be, how much will the animals we want cost us monthly or annually? I know startup cost are huge and i know land and a house can be expensive as well! Any info on your current situation would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
671 Posts
I think you'll be surprised at how little time 2 pigs, a few rabbits, 10 chickens, and 2 goats require to take care of. I'm not sure you need to quit your job in order to make it happen. As far as cost, I would think $250 per month would be a good budget for the amount of animals listed above.

I have 5 goats, 20+ chickens, turkeys, ducks, and geese. I spend less than 30 minutes per day maintaining them and a couple extra hours each weekend. If the goats were in milk I would expect it to take me an extra hour per day. I work 50+ hours per week away from home and I commute 75 minutes each way to work. Maintaining the animals is still easy to fit into my schedule each day.

If you plan to quit your job and make it your livelihood.. I would recommend getting 20+ acres and doing something like 30+ pigs so you can sell 28+ of them for income and then raise a couple dairy goats and some chickens and rabbits for your own consumption on the side.

·
Registered
16,519 Posts