Figs?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Ohio dreamer, Nov 17, 2006.

1. Ohio dreamer

Ohio dreamer 1/2 bubble off plumb

Ok, I'm looking for some help. We are getting ready to move to Hungary for 2 years. In the yard there is a fig treee which we as renters have use of. I was born and raised in Ohio! I have no knowledges of figs other than what to do with them once I purchase the little dices treats from the bulk food store. I haven't found much online other than sales pitches and recipes.

question:

1) do I need to do anything to assist the tree? Water? Feed? etc?
    2) what is there growing season? Havest in spring? summer? fall? etc
    3) how do I prepare them? I'm sure there are seeds or a pit I'll need to remove. Skin? I will most likely dry them so they resemble what I am used too (Looking forward to finally be able to use some that arn't covered in sugar or cornstarch!!) Any pre-drying things I need to know?

If anyone know a link to a website that could be helpful I would appreciate it. I would hate to miss out on the free resource!!

2. blue gecko

blue gecko Well-Known Member

I love figs! The seeds are tiny and edible and the skin is eaten. They can be eaten fresh, dried, preserved in jams or syrups. The seasons vary depending on the variety. Check out this link for some more info:

http://www.justfruitsandexotics.com/

3. birdie_poo

birdie_poo Well-Known Member

I let me fig tree do what it wants to. We get fruit year-round, but then again, I am in So. Cal. They are a member of the Ficus family, but not as tempermental as the common household trees. The Filapina women use the leaves in some recipes. Every once in a while I feed it fish fertilizer.

4. BeckyW

BeckyW Well-Known Member