Fiery furnance with existing boiler heat?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by townmouse, Nov 17, 2004.

1. townmouse

townmouse Well-Known Member

Does anybody know if this would be possible?

Our ranch house was built in the early 60's, has a boiler in the garage and hot water baseboard heat. (system works great, but we want a backup system for emergencies, power outages...)

We know from experience that there's no point in trying to heat a ranch with a woodstove!

How about getting one of those big wood furnaces and putting it in the garage, to heat the water that heats the house? Maybe rig it so we could switch back and forth, from the wood furnace to the boiler?

Or does anybody have a more workable idea? We can get firewood cheap.

thanks,
    Amy

2. Janon

Janon 993cc Geo Metro

Although I'm no expert on boilers... I think the glitch in your plan is that regardless of whether its a wood fired boiler, or propane fired, or natural gas... you're still gonna need electricity to pump the water through the system. The advantage of a "wood stove" is that it just sits there creating heat and does not require electricity.

If you're trying to prepare for power outages, you're gonna have to either use a heating system which does not require electricity, or create your own electricity (i.e. generator).

cheers,

3. agmantoo

agmantoo agmantoo Supporter