Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I am relatively new to raising bottle calves. It was something we did when I was a kid and I am well out of practice. I have to bottle babies, a 3 week angus heifer and a week old Holstein steer.
Both of them I have been feeding 3x/day a 2qt bottle. After every feeding they both seem to want more!

Am I not feeding them enough? I don't want them to get scours. My little angus was really touch and go the first week or so, I don't want to set her back. The Holsteins a beast, he just wants to eat!!

Thanks in Advance!

·
Registered
299 Posts
I do not believe in the usual way of raising bottle calves. The reason for that is because I know when we milked beef cows for family consumption, we always got at least 2 gallons of milk from them and these girls were not outstanding milkers. It, therefore, stands to reason that their calves would be getting at least 2 gallons of milk a day. The first thing I would do is introduce a good calf starter or COB(corn, oats, and barley mixed with a little molasses) to these calves. Poke a little bit in their mouth after every bottle feeding to help them get the idea of what solid food is and what to do with it. If you have another calf of comparable age that knows what grain is and what to do with it, put him in with them at feeding time. Another option is to give some thought to buying a bag of AS70 - it is a medicated feed that smells and tastes like licorice, the last time I bought a bag(2008) it was $11 and change, and is invaluable(IMHO) in getting a bottle calf started on eating solid feed. The 2nd thing I would do is increase their bottles by a 1/2 pint/feeding each day until they were up to 2 gallons a day of milk. If their manure starts to get loose, back them off to where they were until it firms back up, then increase by another 1/2 pint.