Feeding for nucs starting now?

Discussion in 'Beekeeping' started by Ed K, Apr 25, 2005.

1. Ed K

Ed K Well-Known Member

I live in south west PA. The dandelions are just coming out in my area and some dogwoods are blooming.

My bee suplier just brought the nucs from Georgia and will probably have them to me this weekend. I'm just getting started so I have no drawn comb.

Question: should I plan on feeding to help the bees draw comb or with the dandelions out will they be able to forage on their own?

Thanks

2. justgojumpit

justgojumpit Well-Known Member

I would have the feed available to them, and you will know when to stop feeding because they will stop taking the sugar syrup in favor of the nectar. The reason for this is that a nuc still has a relatively small population compared to a full sized hive. This means that the bees are focusing their efforts on brood rearing. If you have sugar syrup available for the bees at the entrance of their hive, they can use this for their brood rearing, and put their population to work rearing brood rather than collecting nectar. As for pollen, the pollen that the bees will harvest is far superior to any protein patties, and the bees will ignore the patties if they have them in preference for real pollen. So, I would just give them sugar syrup. Once they have the second hive body almost filled with comb, I would stop feeding, and put on a honey super, without the excluder. It is true that the queen may lay eggs in the freshly laid comb, but once this brood hatches, the bees will fill the cells with honey, and the queen will not be able to lay eggs there again.

justgojumpit

3. foxtrapper

foxtrapper Well-Known Member Supporter

My personal opinion. You cannot over feed a new colony. I'd feed them all summer long so they'd build up lots of comb and stores. I'd include supers in that equation, let them draw comb there to once the main body frames are drawn and filled.