Feeding Boers and other questions

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Milking Mom, Jul 6, 2006.

1. Milking Mom

Milking Mom COTTON EYED DOES

I am wanting to get 2 full blood Boer does and a nice buck to go with them. I am new to boers. What do you feed boers vs dairy goats (which I have also) If you let the Dams raise their babies how do you perform cocci prevention? Can you feed something like Pilgrim's Meat Goat pellet that has the cocci prevention in it to the Dams and the babies and the bucks? Will it hurt if the Dam's eat it and then the babies drink the milk?

Why don't people regularly test their Boers for CAE and CL like people in the Dairy Goat business do?

I was thinking of dehorning the boers just like I do the dairy kids, but most websites I see all the Boers have horns. Are the horns something that is desirable on Boers? I would think they are a nusance and just a reason to get caught in a fence.

2. mammawof3

mammawof3 Well-Known Member