Feed questions

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by havenberryfarm, Jun 23, 2004.

1. havenberryfarm

havenberryfarm Well-Known Member

OK. I am a total newbie here. DH and I are looking to buy a shetland sheep next spring, but I don't really know a good feed recipe or how much to feed in terms of grain. We are getting our pasture together, but I don't know if I should grow some oats this August or not. Next year we will be growing corn on our extra little 5 acres (2 1/2 of which will be ours after we split it with our farmer neighbor). In addition I have planted about 3 acres of pasture. I will have 1 1/4 acres more to play with and I might plant some oats this August and then split it into thirds and plant oats, corn and a legume on rotation. I would plant this and harvest it by hand, so I think it is about all I could handle.

Does anyone have a recipe for sheep feed that calls mainly for corn and oats?

Can sheep eat soybean meal as part of their ration? If so, how much of the total? i.e. 10%?

We are also getting a goat or two and have chickens to feed. I would like to make up an all-purpose feed and then add in what each animal requires beyond that. The more recipes I get the better. Then I will have a better idea of what each animal requires, and I can combine recipes effectively.

Also, about how much do sheep eat yearly in terms of grain? Assuming they would have ample pasture in summer and average hay in the winter, how much should I be prepared to feed them? I figured about 750 lbs, but this is a really rough estimate. This would be a ewe and I would get a ram the second year and breed her. Shetlands are a little on the small side, around 90-120 lbs, I think.

Sorry for all the questions. I just want to know how many animals I can afford to feed. Cuz I want to get as many as I can... :eek:

2. Shygal

Shygal Unreality star Supporter