Feed for Goats??!!!

Discussion in 'Goats' started by barnyardfun, Oct 27, 2005.

1. barnyardfun

barnyardfun Happy Homemaker Supporter

Okay, I am new to goats and am the proud new owner of three! One doe is milking (just got her yesterday and her 6 mth doeling is still trying to nurse her so I am going to try to get some milk out of her while she still has some!) One is due to kid in January.

ANYWAY! I have done so many searches on here to find out what they need for feed besides hay (by the way is bermuda grass hay okay??) and I am now more confused on this topic then when I started! I went to TSC tonight and looked at their feed and ended up coming home with 10% sweet feed and a mineral block.

Now from reading all the post on here I don't know if I am supposed to be feeding alfalfa hay, rolled oats, cracked corn, sweet feed, goat feed?, black oil sunflower seeds, any or all the above!! SEE HOW CONFUSED I AM???

Please somebody make this easy on my poor little mind!! :stars:

WHAT DO I FEED MY GOATS!!?? :shrug:

2. titansrunfarm

titansrunfarm The Awesome PT & Friends

Yep, this place can confuse the tar out of you, but their is a pile to be learned here also.
    I feed 16% goat sweet mix from the feed store and timothy/orchardgrass hay. Occaisionally they get a handful of BOSS (black oil sunflower seeds) in their grain and they seem to like the horse treats I have also. They are at pasture during the day, also. I have heard some say don't feed wethers any grain but I need more info on this, too.

3. trnubian

trnubian Twin-Reflection Nubians

Yes, It all is confusing and different people have different opinions on how to feed their goats. It's all in what works and is most economical for you.