Family Farm Corporations...

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Joy in Eastern WA, Feb 20, 2004.

1. Joy in Eastern WA

Joy in Eastern WA Well-Known Member

Anybody here familiar with this term and how it's set-up and operated? The reason I ask this, we're in the process this year of developing our farm to use all 70 acres, whether it's for crops (45 acres) or for livestock (24 acres). One acre would be set aside for the house and lawns. My concern is, with the way our country has become, you never know if one day you find yourself on the losing end of a lawsuit. It would kill me to lose this farm, since it has come to us with such a great sacrifice. So, would setting this place up as a corporation protect it from being liquidated?

Any financial advisors willing to give their two cents worth on this?

Thanks!

2. rambler

rambler Well-Known Member Supporter

I'm only a smple dirt farmer, so what do I know?

Seems to me if you form a corporation, then _it_ can get sued instead of you individually. So _if_ set up right (LLC) then it would protect the individuals from being sued, but the corp itself could be.

Probably better to just buy a good umbrella liability package & spend your money there.

--->Paul

3. fordy

fordy Well-Known Member

...........You can "safe harbor" your assets by setting up a Trust that will have Title and under most circumstances is somewhat impervious to lawsuits. You should Visit with a Trust Attorney who is Board Certified in this particular Aspect of your State and federal law. .........fordy.. :)

4. Wanda

Wanda Well-Known Member

Fordy is on the mark :D

5. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

I don't know how trusts work in the USA but I'm with Paul, buy good insurance and lots of it. If you're at fault or just have a bad judgement against you, you'll still lose assts (bank acc's etc.) No fun being old without money. Not not a real hoot being young with no money either!