Falconry?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by wy0mn, Dec 28, 2004.

1. wy0mn

wy0mn Transplanted RedNeck

I realize this isn't a typical bunch to survey, but here goes. I'm studying to become a falconer, hunting with hawks/falcons, and want to see what ya'll feel about it. Is it right to trap a wild raptor & learn to hunt with it? Is there anything that you feel to be unethical about it? I have my own opinion based on studies on the web & off, but I wanna see what "public opinion" is.
    Thanks

2. moonwolf

moonwolf Well-Known Member

Before you trap a wild raptor, you better check with your state or federal laws that usually protect these birds in the wild. The fines could be pretty stiff with keeping these without a license and proof of where you got them.

3. idahocurs

idahocurs Well-Known Member

I say welcome and good luck! I spent atleast 1 hour per day with my redtail on non hunting days as a 1st year apprentice and my weekends were filled with hunting but I no longer have the time needed to devote to the sport but hope that will change in the future. There is nothing better that to hunt with an animal you trained and then set him free in the spring...

4. idahocurs

By the way are you allowed to hunt as an apprentice with anything besides a redtail or kestrel? I know that there are some states that you can. Also do you plan to hunt squirrel seeing as you are from TN or what is your primary game? I was lucky enough to go with a falconer in Utah and get an Eyas Peregrine when they opened the take season a few years ago. They are awsome birds but due to my location if I start again and become a general I would probably get a sharpie or coop and a Prairie. Man you have got my blood pumping as I have tried not to think about this for years...

5. caballoviejo

caballoviejo Well-Known Member

There would be no falconry, no domesticated animals, and no animal husbandry if animals had not been captured from the wild and trained or selected.