Expert advice needed

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Hip_Shot_Hanna, Jan 17, 2007.

1. Hip_Shot_Hanna

Hip_Shot_Hanna Well-Known Member

OK I am new to Wells , how do you pull a well pump , we have a pump at around 70 feet in a 4 inch well pipe, by the wiring it's a 220 volt pump , there is a plate bolted to the top of the well pipe with 4 bolts, which the wires go thru and the 2 in steel pipe comes out of , part of the well house roof comes off I spose to crane the pump out , if this thing ever quits where do i start to pull the thing ?

2. Dianol

Dianol Well-Known Member

Okay, my dh will answer this on- Dianne

dh;
    Follow this process, keeping in mind that you'll have to adapt to your specific installation;
    1. Turn off the breaker, and lock it out if possible. If not possible, pull the breaker out. Yes, it's 220 volt
    2. Disconnect the pipe above the plate. There should be a union or some fitting that allows you to disconnect it from the pressure tank. If not you'll have to cut it.
    3. Unbolt the flange, and determine what kind of pipe you have. It may be a semi-flexible black plastic pipe that you can pull and aim out the door or window. Or you may have to create roof clearance as you indicate. There should be a nylon rope anchored off just below that plate. Find it, and use it to pull everything.
    4. The submersible pump, pipe, and wire can be kind of heavy. I have pulled them alone, but it's nice to have help.