everyone cross your fingers....

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by holleegee, Dec 13, 2005.

1. holleegee

holleegee Well-Known Member

I am fairly new to rabbits, this is my first shot at breeding. I have a pair of english angoras and a pair of mini lops. Yesterday morning I tried to let my english angoras and my mini lops breed. I saw my buck angora "fall over" so I think that was a good sign but my mini lops never really figured it out. Last night I put the angoras back together and the doe wouldn't let the buck do anything. I put the mini lops back together and they never figured it out (the doe thinks she is the buck and the buck tries but at the wrong end.) I guess it is just wait and see now. Even though I don't think the mini lops ever bred I will still give her a nest box in 28 days just in case. Hopefully I'll have bunnies!

2. Frenchy

Frenchy Wrangler's Roost

best of luck to ya ........ I had a buck once was a slow learner but once he figured it out he always had big healthy babies with every doe I put him with ......so hang in there maybe everyone will get the hang of it ...........hahahahahaa :cowboy:

3. Tarot Farm

Tarot Farm Well-Known Member

Young Mini Lops can be slow learners. :rolleyes:

Try putting the doe in with the buck (never the buck in the doe's pen). :)

Also, you might try turning the fellow around to the correct end... :eek:

4. Reauxman

Reauxman Well-Known Member

As a rule, a fall over can mean preg, a doe that won't lift or a buck that doesn't fall means no preg.
    I don't bother giving a box to does when the buck never fell. I don't have time to screw around putting in boxes and then have to take them out 4 days later after the doe has made a mess in them, only to clean them and repete.

5. nehimama

nehimama An Ozark Engineer Supporter

Good Luck, Holleegee! Yep, sounds like the Angora did his job. Are the lops young yet?

Be sure to let us all know what happens!

NeHi

6. Goat Freak

Goat Freak Slave To Many Animals