Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,812 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am beyond tired of being alone all the time and having to do everything by myself. I've been looking, but I am not a liberal and that seems to be a prerequisite for a lot of them.

Are there any intentional communities that are more of a conservative mindset? I'm a natural teacher and I really enjoy passing on my skills. Hard to do that in this area. Though I have a lovely piece of property it is absolutely in the wrong part of the country. I just can't take weeks on end of 100+ temps like I used to.

What would be perfect would be something almost like a small town where everyone owns their own houses but they work cooperatively for the good of the community.....a bit like the Amish. There's been several I've found that I like, but I think my Libertarian/conservative tendencies would get me in trouble.

·
Registered
7,576 Posts
Unfortunately I would never have interest on communal living.

I'm just too independent and probably imposing my view
would be counter productive. 'Cooperating' at my workplace
makes me glad I have my own homestead to go at the end
of a day.

·
Still an :censored:
15,870 Posts
I wish you luck with that and I'm not being a smart :censored: I sort of like the idea of communism with a small c. Unfortunately it has a habit of turning into Communism with a big C. That's fine for those that don't mind others running their lives and their country.

I wouldn't give up. Perhaps it would help to broaden the search and look for an unintentional community. That would be someplace that mirrors your values and has the other aspects you want. Road trip?

·
Premium Member
2,812 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have not ever heard .of an unintentional community.

Yes I have those same concerns as I have a strong independent streak.