Enterotoxemia Scare/Happy Ending

Discussion in 'Goats' started by dezeeuwgoats, Dec 17, 2006.

1. dezeeuwgoats

dezeeuwgoats Well-Known Member

I wanted to share what happened to me yesterday - hoping others here can learn from it as well. I've been raising goats for three years now - not an expert by any stretch of the imagination.

I had a doe kid last Saturday with triplets, and my other two that were due kidded Monday. Yesterday - we broke down individual kidding pens into one large pen, on a fresh section of grass. The babies were all excited, playing, and bouncing around. It took about forty-five minutes.

One of the babies started crying. She was between two buckets laying down. She had a peculiar cry - you could tell she was in pain. She'd get up, stretch, and move her legs strangely, and lay down, then repeat. DH thought she was stuck, but she wasn't. We wondered if she had been stepped on, or butted by one of the other moms. She was desperate to get out of the pen. We let her out, but she kept laying against things, and started flayling and struggling every so often.

Acute onset of symptoms in a moments-before, bouncy kid - I called my breeder and thankfully she immediately answered the phone. I described above, and she listed what it might be, when the kid cried out - she heard it over the phone and she immediately said - 'Entero' - get tetanus antitoxin ASAP. We bought out the feed store a block away, all the while on the phone with Debbie. We gave ten cc's orally, 20 cc's in four injection locations sub-Q.