Engineering Question. (Moved to Alt. Energy Forum)

Discussion in 'Alternative Energy' started by Bladesmith, Apr 29, 2006.

1. Bladesmith

Bladesmith Well-Known Member

I'm no engineer. Not even close, and lots of numbers make me queasy. So a question for someone better at it than I.

Ethanol, moonshine, juice, whatever you want to call it, is a relatively easy to make renewable resource made from plants. Got that part.

Car engines cannot tolerate more than, what, 15% ethanol in the gas mix?

So.....what would be required to build an engine that ran only on Ethanol? Or is ethanol alone, not combustable enough to use as fuel?

2. Shrek

Shrek Singletree Moderator Staff Member Supporter

3. Bladesmith

Hmm wonder if anyones experimented with Graphites, Ceramics or Cerametals, or things like Titanium?

What I'm hearing from you is that a radical new design for ICE's is required. Isn't that sort of thing what America is supposed to be great at?

4. HermitJohn

HermitJohn Well-Known Member

I doubt worth it for ethanol, but remember reading about ceramic direct injection diesels being developed by Isuzu. Ceramic allows them to run at higher temps and thus greater efficiency. Isuzu has some pretty good diesel technology.

As to ethanol, why not ask VW, or GM or Ford that manufacture and sell cars in Brazil for use with 100% ethanol. Obviously they can make cars that work with ethanol. Arent some vehicles that are sold in USA NOW that can use something like an 80% or 90% ethanol blend or regular gasoline whichever is available? Not sure why if 90% not 100% but that may be politically unwise. Big oil has lot of clout at the moment and lot money. Plus we cant yet manage to produce enough alcohol to make a 10% blend for all distribution.

5. Nevada

Nevada Voice of Reason Supporter

Cars will run on ethanol but the power output is poor and there will be corrosion problems. It's not a matter of getting engines to run on ethanol, because they already will.