Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
I'm a highway engineer, so you can blame me. However, I've only been doing this for 3 years and haven't been very involved in Right of Way issues.

I don't know what state you're in, I'm sure your state has a slightly different process than Pennsylvania.

What everyone else is saying is correct. You don't want to take the first offer the DOT gives you. In PA, you can get about two or three counter-bids, and then eventually they will get tired of dealing with you and start the eminent domain condemnation process. That is where things start getting bad for you. So don't resist too hard!

It might be difficult to work with the contractor to 'get other projects around the house' done, but you might talk with the equipment operator and see if a few cases of beer or a hundred bucks might help the process. I'd still doubt it though. The contractor or a demoliton/clearing subcontractor doesn't want to get caught with their men and equipment digging up your septic field when the state inspector comes by! Don't forget these men probably get paid upwards of $30-35 an hour, so a pan of brownies probably won't cut it!

Do you know where your property corners are? Are there markers at each one? If a crew of surveyors has already come through with their equipment, they may have either located the existing markers or set new ones. Do you have a plat of your property? That is a drawing with surveyor's notes on it, which should show where your property ends, and where the state's right of way begins. In rural areas, this may be referenced from the centerline of the road, which will make things easy for you, you just get out there with a tape measure and firugre out how far the right of way extends.