electric fence grounding woes

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Liz2, Jun 11, 2005.

1. Liz2

Liz2 Guest

I'm putting up an electric fence for the goats, and all has gone well until time to see about grounding it. My husband is opposed to buying anything for grounding, i.e. "proper" 6' galvanized poles. I do have one 8' galvanized pole, which he says to cut in half. He says that if the soil is bone dry 4' down it won't do any good to have a deeper ground rod, as the fence won't shock well in soil that dry anyway.
    I also have one 5' rusty iron rod. What is the best system with what I have? Drive galvanized in 6-7' and use rusty iron rod with it as a second ground rod? Or cut the galvanized in half for two 4' rods?
    I do not know what to do; I'm doing all the work by myself. I am good at following instructions, and it throws me off to not be able to follow them, since I have no knowledge of electric fencing.
    I greatly appreciate any ideas and advice!
    Thanks,
    Liz

2. BobK

BobK Well-Known Member

A proper ground rod can be had for less than $20...otherwise use the galvanized rod in one piece and drive it as deep as you can. You do need to get the rod into some ground that has some moisture for conductivity.....one deeper rod is better than two shallow ones. The iron rod that is rusty will perform very poorly...the rust will not conduct electricity to ground and is a waste of time and effort in trying to use it. If you get a goo dground you should have no problem. One other thing you can do if there is some wire mesh fence along with the hot wire attach the mesh fence to the ground that way you are not soley dependent on dry-earth to hot wire contact...any contact with thet mesh fence and the hot wire will shock the goats and keep them off of the fence.

3. BobK

BobK Well-Known Member

You can also run a wire attached to the gound rod in with the hot wires.

4. horselogger

horselogger Well-Known Member