Elderberry Tincture

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by The Funny Farm, Oct 25, 2004.

1. The Funny Farm

The Funny Farm Active Member

Basically what you are doing is making something like Sambucol without any of the extra ingredients. Elderberry is an anti-viral and a lot of folks use it for colds and flu. Putting it in Vodka preserves it so you can store it for a long time on the shelf. The alcohol is very good at extracting all the goodies from the berries. Elderberry extract like you are making really will work on the flu. I've been using and making it for 2 yrs now. I just made 2 quarts last week. Another lady who has been doing tinctures a lot longer than me told me you can heat it a little bit but don't boil it or you might alter the ingredient that helps you. You can sugar it and when you need a dose you can put it in tea or warm water. One tsp. 3x a day. I hope this helps.
    (I'm sorry, I meant for this to be on the Elderberry thread) Maybe the Mods can move it for me?? Sorry!!

2. goatlady

goatlady Well-Known Member Supporter

I've found it seems better tinctured in brandy rather than vodka, less harsh on the throat and after I drain off the liquid, I put it in a stainless steel pot and add sugar to taste and SIMMER for about 10 minutes. Really nice to take a teaspoon straight.

3. countrygrrrl

countrygrrrl PITA

Great instructions, both Funny and goatlady!

Had I been experienced at winemaking, etc., I think my batch could have turned out wonderfully tasty. I'm guessing there must be regional varieties, as what I've made has a really smoky taste to it which --- had I known what I was doing :D --- could have been utilized to make this stuff a real taste treat.