Efficient Firewood Cutting

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by JV, Sep 13, 2004.

1. JV

JV Well-Known Member

I have bought a new stihl chainsaw and have entered the wonderful world of firewood cutting. I am pretty new at this so I would like to know when does it become a waste of time to cut up branches. I mean how small in diameter is it still worth it to cut up for use in a woodburning stove. I'm thinking about the size of my wrist. Any opinions? What do you do?

2. OD

OD Well-Known Member

That's about the size where we stop cutting. You will need a lot of small stuff like that for starting fires & the more branches that size you have, the less splitting you will have to do. In really cold weather, I don't let my fire go out, & with a good bed of coals, small stuff isn't necessary. In other words, you will need a lot of small pieces if you let your fire go completely out overnight & build a new one every morning.

3. comfortablynumb

comfortablynumb Well-Known Member

I burn everything.
    if its to small to saw, I use big lopper pruners.
    when its dry i break it all up by driving the truck over it.
    then i rake/fork it all up and tarp it.

if its dry and doesnt stink, I will burn it. pallets, construction scrap, old furniture... trees, deadfalls, on my trips around town if I spy a really nice dead elm, i'll saw hunks off and drag those home.

4. dscott7972

dscott7972 Well-Known Member

We have a woodfurnace and I would probably quit with wristsized pieces but since we have a fireplace I cut up branches just larger than my thumb since they make a nice fire. We have several wood companies around here and I get much of my wood from them for frew or $20 a load I don't have to mess with cutting down my own trees, just cutting up the long pieces from the sawmill.

5. Jolly

Jolly Well-Known Member

Nothing past about wrist size. You do need some smaller stuff to help start your fires, so I segregate my wood as I stack it.