Eating Nubians?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by KodiakFox, Sep 5, 2017.

1. KodiakFox

KodiakFox Member

Hello! I'm new to the forums. I joined because I have a Nubian doeling that is very whiny, and is driving me nuts. I know convention is to eat the boys, but I have put her up for sale and so far no bites (lol). So I'm planning to just butcher her. I am new to goats, just got my first goats this year. I have been reading about when to do it. She seems very small still. She was kidded in April. I've attached some photos. Advice? I don't know how much she weighs, but she is small, I can still carry her around fairly easily. Maybe 40lb?

Attached Files:

2. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO More dharma, less drama. Supporter

Just process her and don't worry about it. You get what you get. Huggs.

3. KodiakFox

KodiakFox Member

That will happen probably next month if nobody wants her for breeding. Nubians are naturally smaller, as I understand it? She just seems kind of scrawny lol They have minerals and salt, separate and loose, as well as access to the big horse salt/mineral block, access to hay all the time and frequent access to a big field with lots of browsing. I guess she is almost 5 months old now.

4. Oregon1986

Oregon1986 Well-Known Member

If you were in Oregon I'd take her,pretty girl

5. KodiakFox

KodiakFox Member

She is pretty, I hope somebody buys her! I am only an hour north of the WA border, not sure what is involved in bringing goats across

6. Caprice Acres

Caprice Acres AKA "mygoat" Staff Member Supporter

Welcome!