East TX worms?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by WolfSoul, Sep 9, 2004.

1. WolfSoul

WolfSoul Well-Known Member

Hi: I'm new to East TX and the tons of parasites here. I'm originally from up north where the winter kills them all. Anyway, I have to have goats to keep our Ag exemption and have Nubians and Alpines. I notice they are coughing and I see tapeworms in their feces. Everybody I talk to, including the vet, tell me to use a different wormer. Is there anyone out there with experience worming goats for ALL worms? I think they have round, lung and tape for sure. I just got these goats, one is pregnant (since June) and I don't want to give them something harmful. Thanks, WolfSoul

2. Lt. Wombat

Lt. Wombat Well-Known Member

We use the herbal wormer sold by Hoegger goat supply.

Being in South Dakota we have very little parasites so I can not give any advice regarding Texas bugs, but using the herbal we have had zero infestations.

3. Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians

Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians Well-Known Member

With the Lt.'s winter freeze and less humidity he likely could worm with pickles also :haha:

I don't want to use anything that I have to worm with monthly, including herbal wormers, I also would not use a product like wormword in my goats feed monthly which is an abortive product.

I am north of Houston in Cleveland, I have had goats all of the 18 years I have been up here in the National Forest. We of course have wormed with a myriad of things, most recently moved to Cydectin, it is a purple cattle pouron. We have had wonderful results with it, in fact after kidding in March (pre breeding and the day they kid are the only two scheduled wormings we do) I did have to worm in May, but have not had a fecal egg rise since then. The girls will be rewormed the end of the month getting ready to be bred in October.