Dumb question re: Hauling water

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by donsgal, Aug 9, 2006.

1. donsgal

donsgal Nohoa Homestead

Ok, here goes...

If I haul water and do not use a gravity feed system, but rather a hand pump to get the water out of the tank - is there any way to be able to use a water heater? I realize that a water heater works on water pressure, so I am thinking that it isn't going to work without it.

Does this mean, that the only way I am going to be able to have hot water is to heat it on the stove? Do any of you use this method? Is it lots more trouble than it is worth?

Can you tell I'm new at this?

Wisdom appreciated!

donsgal

2. arcticpixie

arcticpixie Member

We heat our water on the stove in a 2 gallon water bath canner. It isn't exactly easy but it gets the job done. You could use a hot water heater. Fill it, turn it on until the water is hot. Shut it off, open the valve at the top and use the hose bib at the bottom to fill things and repeat. Seems like a lot of trouble and a lot of electricity to me. :shrug: Not to mention if you forget to shut it off before you drain the tank the elements will burn out. Come to think of it, how would you fill it?

If you have a woodstove, keep a heavy duty tea kettle on the top filled with water for those quick washups/cups of tea. For large projects like washing dishes/clothes, use the old pot on the stove trick. In the summer a turkey fryer type propane element keeps the heat out of the house.

Don't tell anyone, but I used one of those turkey fryer burners in the house as a cook stove the first few months we lived here. Big no no I know. Although no one has been able to explain to me why a propane range is okay but not a single stand alone propane burner? Either way I have a real stove now :p

3. Cyngbaeld

Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter

Any particular reason for using a hand pump instead of electric?