Does this happen with mastitis?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Caprice Acres, Nov 13, 2005.

1. Caprice Acres

Caprice Acres AKA "mygoat" Staff Member Supporter

The vet told me to give 5cc pennecillin for a week to try to get rid of the mastitis. I had milked her out the past few days but today it is one solid lump, almost no liquid. the liquid that did come out was orange and clear. only a few drops of it though. is this it clearing up? It seems like it would turn all liquidy and then go away, not turn into a huge lump. I have no experience with mastitis.

2. Rachel K.

Rachel K. Well-Known Member

I too have no experience with mastitis but thought that I would give you some words of advice that I have picked up.

No it doesn't sound like it is clearing up. You have to keep Milking her out and try to get all of that Bacteria out of her udder. Keep giving her the pennecillin as this will also help.

Some people use Hot packs on the udders. You can also try Milking her out till you can't get anymore milk out and then try and massage her udder with some peppermint oil. Then try milking again. The hot packs and message's are important as this will help break up the crud and lumps in her udder.

I hope that this may help you. good luck.

3. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO More dharma, less drama. Supporter

I've had it, not my critters, and I think you had better call the vet back on Monday.

4. Jillis

Jillis Well-Known Member

How the heck do you keep a hot pack on a goat?!?!

5. Caprice Acres

I can't milk her out; it is solid exept for a few drops. Get a hot pack on daisy?! hah. she hardly sits still, probably be close to impossible.....

6. Goat Freak

Goat Freak Slave To Many Animals

Could you take one of your bras, get it so the cup part is on her udder, put the hot pack in, and then fasten the clip? I have also heard of people MAKING bras for goats with low hangin udders so I would think that you could make one to put a hot pack in as well.

7. Caprice Acres