Does anyone here Uran or Suburban homestead?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Deb Mc., May 2, 2004.

1. Deb Mc.

Deb Mc. Member

Hello everyone!

A long-time lurker here, just starting out into homesteading. I'm new to homesteading and am looking for advice you could give to a newbie.

Info on my circumstances: For right now, any homesteading being done will be inside city limits, with about 1/4 acre that's usable. (My long-term goal is to eventually own about 5 acres outside the city and turn it into a full-fleged homestead site.)

So, does anyone here do homesteading in the city or the 'burbs? If so, do you have any tips for a newbie homesteader, please?

Thanks and God Bless!

2. kathy H

kathy H kathyh

Dont any more but two years ago I lived in town and had a small back yard[ about 900 feet] and had eight dwarf fruit trees, a grape plant trellised over the rabbit shed. One huge orange tree. three hens in a movable coop and two goats a pygora and a nigerian. And four raised garden beds. also five rabbits.

3. limhyl

limhyl Well-Known Member

I think that homesteading is more a state of mind than how much acreage you live on. That being said, I live on 1/6th, yes you read it right, of an acre in the city. :waa: However, since I have the homesteading mindset, I have accomplished quit a lot on my little peice of self sufficiency. Vegetables, small fruit, chickens for a start. Homesteading does not stop at the front door however and teaching myself new skills, I try to learn two or three every year, has greatly increased my ability to do for myself. Simple things like making soap, spinning wool, making cheese all are steps in the right direction for me so that when I do get some land someday soon, I can do all of these things using the raw materials, wool, milk, lard, that I raised myself. Baby steps. Theresa.

4. Shrek

Shrek Singletree Moderator Staff Member

5. Deb Mc.

Deb Mc. Member

Shrek,