Do young bucks usually have a problem reaching?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by TennesseeMama23, Oct 4, 2006.

1. TennesseeMama23

TennesseeMama23 Well-Known Member

My stinky boy is 6 months old and I want him to be the stud muffin this year, I just wonder if he will be able to get the job done without hurting himself. This is the first buck I have ever owned so I am new at this. He weighs about 65-70+ lbs (?-just by looking at him). I just can't imagine he would be able to do it being 6-8 inches shorter than the girls.

2. ozark_jewels

ozark_jewels Well-Known Member Supporter

I have seen bucklings hop 6" off the ground on the last lunge just to get the job done, but thats very tiring and some simply can't. I had to deal with this twice today as two of my tall Saanan girls were bred to my 2006 buckling. I led the doe to a dip in the ground with her back feet being on the far edge so that when the buck stood right behind her, he was pretty much level. Then I held her there while he did his job a couple times. He was extremely pleased with himself..... :)

3. Jillis

Jillis Well-Known Member

I've been told that you can put the buck on a hay bale and hold the doe for him...by the way...stud muffin...snert!

4. moonspinner

moonspinner Well-Known Member

I've seen some determined little rascals able to do the job on taller does. If the height difference is interfering, try putting him on a plank or hay bale to compensate. I'd just be more concerned about his technique. I've found some of my nigie boys still are not totally reliable til seven months.

5. Sweet Goats

Sweet Goats Cashmere goats

One of my bucks last year was 6 months old also, he was a little short (not so short now) and he bred my tallest doe. It does help, that the girls will stand still and even get down for them, when they are ready. I got beautful twins.

6. Milking Mom

Milking Mom COTTON EYED DOES