Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It seems that there's a busy birthday season headed my way followed by Christmas. What are some of your favorite DIY gifts? I'm running out of more simple, affordable ideas.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What do you do / like to do?
I'm a woodworker, so I make things out of wood:
View attachment 90907

View attachment 90908

View attachment 90909
That's so awesome!

I'm definitely not a woodworker...it seems so many people can make these amazing DIY gifts, but I think I always fall short when I try to do them.

I've tried doing sugar scrubs, but I think I just wasted my time...I gave them and got weird looks and no word after so I never did it again. The costs for some DIY gifts are a little more than I want to invest in. I try to look for DIY gifts that I already have materials for.

I don't know what I'm awesome at. I'm not a super "crafty" type of person. I suppose that's usually my frustration. I like to save money, too, because we don't usually have an elaborate gift budget.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
No idea what a sugar scrub is :)

Do you do any canning? Jelly? Soap? It's hard to know where to start.
I made mine with granulated cane sugar, coconut oil, and essential oils. I enjoyed using the ones I made.

Nope, I haven't learned canning. =(

I made soap a long time ago but it was premade stuff you melt into molds. Wasn't too amazed with it. I don't know how to make a from scratch. I have watched how on YouTube, but don't have the ingredients.

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
IMG_0922.jpg
I make dish towel sets for nieces and nephews, shower gifts, just because I’m bored gifts. They do run about $15 for 7 towels plus my time but I don’t count my time, I need to be doing something anyway.

·
Registered
19 Posts
For Christmas each year, I purchase some flip-top bottles:

And then fill them with the following:

Homemade Kahlua Recipe