DIY bag siliage

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by bobp, Jan 5, 2018.

1. bobp

bobp Well-Known Member

Have you ever fed pigs siliage?

I have quite a bit of whole corn, in supersacks.

I'm contemplating taking an empty supersack, with plastic liner in place, and putting in a 6"ish layer of corn, a layer alfalfa, a gallon or so of Baker's grade molasses, mist it with water, another layer of corn wash rinse repeat. This should ferment in about 30 days and be ready to feed?
    Would this work to Produce a more palatable healthier feed, and use it on the boar and non gestational sows...

2. pigsinwigs

pigsinwigs New Member

Hi bobp, I am far from an expert (only had pigs for a few months), but I have made haylage to help preserve spent brewer's grain, which spoils more quickly than I can feed our pigs.

What I did was use the extra-thick black contractor trash bags that you can get at Home Depot or other such construction supply. I then alternated thin layers of shredded hay with the spent barley. When we got near the top, we sucked out air with a the shop vac by having one person tightly bunching the plastic bag around the long neck and then the other tie the bag shut. (Keep the nozzle a bit above the last layer, it won't suck any meaningful amount of feed out.) Then just let it sit for a few weeks, weather was mainly in 50's/60's. Smelled lovely and the pigs loved it! I think more than they like the plain brewer's grain.

I dream of when it will be above freezing again so I can make them some more!

3. bobp

bobp Well-Known Member

Thanks for your input. It's certainly very interesting...I read where hogs will eat siliage...I can't see where it would hurt. And fermentation does improve some feedstuffs... I believe I'll try it if I haven't fed it already when it warms up.