Dipping my toes into the water

Discussion in 'Weight Loss Forum' started by dosthouhavemilk, Dec 20, 2005.

1. dosthouhavemilk

dosthouhavemilk Well-Known Member Supporter

Hello! Some of you may have seen me on the Goats and Cattle forums, or not.

I've been having trouble with my weight since I graduated high school. I was 170 throughout high school and very comfortable with my weight and physical fitness. I have sports induced asthma and very weak ankles so running, jogging, etc, are not things I do.
    However, I live and work on a dairy farm. We use bucket milkers and so that means carrying and dumping buckets of milk. We also pasture our cattle, so when I am working I get a lot of exercise. Exercising isn't my problem. My eating habits are my problem.
    I am assuming that being on Depo for a year and a half after graduating high school didn't help. But that is not entirely to blame. After graduating I started buying a lot of my own food and it was mostly junk food. I no longer had the stable three round meals a day that I did in high school (I attended a local boarding school). I was no longer doing sports every weekday afternoon either. I loved field hockey, volleyball, soccer, etc. now I don't play sports excpet for sprinting across fields after cows and tackling goats. :rolleyes:
    I do not eat regular meals. On occassion I eat a solid round meal once a day but rarely more than once a day. I snack..constantly.
    I am an emotional eater and have Bipolar Disorder. I am a Moutain Dew addict (easily drink over 2 liters a day).
    I can recognize all these factors, I know I need to work on eating real meals, cut out the Mountain Dew, the sweets, the constant snacking, question why I am reaching for the food when I do, and yet, I cannot find the will power to do anything about it, or to stick with it.