Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thread drift from chickenmommy's thread titled "Enrolling in University - Questions!"

Someone mentioned that he had several degrees and working on a PhD, but feels that most he has learned is 98% nonsense.

Did you go to college and if so did you find it a lot of nonsense?

Me - I graduated with an Assocs and bachelors about 8 years ago. Did I "learn" anything at college? - yes and no.

I learned how to listen and pick out the important parts.
I learned how to communicate (speech's, presentations, writing papers, etc), I learned how to learn. Employers in turn know that I am able to learn, I am trainable.

Did I actually use much of this knowledge in the "real" world? No.

But it opened many many doors for me that a highschool dipolma never would have.

Was it worth it? - Yes, most definately.

I've even considered going back just for fun. I really enjoyed it, learning, communicating with others in class. I can't imagine a degree that I would be interested in attaining now, but would love to do what chickenmommy is doing, Culinary Arts. Now a degree like that - what a true learning experince.

·
Registered
630 Posts
I went to college a couple of years and then to a business school and graduated from there with a degree.

I studied to be a travel professional, either a travel agent or work in the hotel industry. I really wanted to be a travel agent.

I graduated right at the recession in the 90's. After that, the internet took off. No need for travel agents now. They are a dying breed.

So yes, going to college got me nowhere, and I busted my rear for those years and spent all that money for nothing. I can tell you that just about every one I know that went to college during the same time I did have the same experience. Makes you wonder.