Did The Deed!

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Mike in Pa, Mar 12, 2005.

1. Mike in Pa

Mike in Pa Well-Known Member

Man oh man! I did the deed. My wife and I casrated our first pig! :no:

I ain't never grew up around farm animals. All self-taught and mostly from what I've learned here. This was another big hurdle for me.

I used a utility knife with a new blade and my wife held him. Unfortunately he wasn't as young as I'd have liked ... he is about 10 weeks old. Took a minute to find them! Made the incisions and pulled them out and packed iodized salt mixed with actual iodine on it.

The only problem I have is when I got done there might have been a "cord" left dangling. I didn't even realize this until a minute ago. This was pretty traumatic for me, my wife and of course the pig. If there is something still hanging, will it dry up and fall off? There wasn't much blood either.

I give my wife A LOT of credit. This was really tough for her to do.

2. beeman97

beeman97 Well-Known Member

Mike,
    I would remove the cord if you can get ahold of him again. that cord will dry up eventually & fall off, but in the mean time it is going to leave a space for air to get into the scrotum & therefore increase the chances of infection. You also run the risk that it gets caught up on something & is pulled at reopening the wound.
    usually people pull on that cord until it breaks off up inside the pig. or what ever animal is being castrated. A vet will reach up inside & cut the cord inside, but others believe that by pulling it you constrict the blood vessels & there is less bleeding.
    Good Luck
    Rick

3. agmantoo

agmantoo agmantoo Supporter