Dexter Cow Info

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Snugglebunny, Oct 20, 2004.

1. Snugglebunny

Snugglebunny Well-Known Member

I am gathering information about livestock, etc that I want to have on my future farm. I already want chickens, but I am now researching milk cows.

Someone told me about Dexter Cows, and I am extremely interested in them. I have no farming experience and heard they are good for first-timers like me.

Does anyone here have Dexters? What have your experiences with them been like? Are they expensive to purchase and feed/care for?

Before you ask...no I don't know any farmers in this area to talk to.

Any info would be great.

SnuggleBunny, VT

2. Goose

Goose Migratory Waterfowl

We've just recently sold our Limosin/Simmentals and are getting into Dexters. I like what I've seen so far.....the ADCA site has mucho info:

www.dextercattle.org

3. Carol K

Carol K Well-Known Member

http://www.dakodan.net/dexters/forum/

There is a huge amount of info on this site. The people are friendly, you can read all the previous posts, it is split into Beef, milk, bloodlines etc so you can read about what you want. Ask questions, someone will be there to help you out. Oh, and it has lots of pictures also.
    The ADCA site that was posted is also very good.

Carol K

4. Snugglebunny

Might get a bit sappy on you now, but bear with me...

I have spent my whole life searching for a 'life's work'. I thought being a mommy alone would be enough, but my oldest started part time preschool this year, and it made me think on the future...my two boys might not always need me so much.

Anyway, I come from a long line of animal lovers - actually it seems an inherited trait, some of us can 'talk' to them more than others. This became more clear to me when I realized that throughout all the stress and junk during my day, the most relaxing, most peaceful time is when I am caring for an animal. Without them, I have very little sanity or patience with my world.