Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,780 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, first of all, forgive me, because I'm a librarian by trade

Today I have been organizing our books by Dewey Decimal System.
I know that seems really......ummmm.......crazy, BUT!
It's the best way to organize!!!

So anyway, I came to Carla Emery's book & it is housed in the same location as "Living More with Less"
If you have never laid your hands on that little gem, I suggest you do so -
It's a great book!

Anyway, if I were doing it myself (without Mr. Dewey's help), I probably wouldn't have thought to put them together....but when I put them on the shelf, I thought "YES, they definitely go side by side"

Just wanted to share some of my insanity ;)

·
Living in the Hills
4,534 Posts
They would go together. I agree Dewey is the best way to organize books. My kids thought I was nuts to stat by putting all our fiction by author, new house and they will be learning DDS and our library will get set to rights!

Cheryl
library tech B.C.

·
Registered
11,076 Posts
I can't say that for some library material I'm all that fond of the Dewey decimal system.

For an example the Little Britches series of books and others by Ralph Moody are scattered rather than being together. Where I'm at they are in autobiography, fiction, history, and some in the "Kansas Room" which is specifically set aside for Kansas material. The ones in the Kansas Room deal with the time he lived in Kansas. The books in the Kansas room bear K or KC designating they belong there, with only those with a KC for out of building circulation. Oh I almost forgot, some are in the audio book section.