Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
952 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to make my own feed. buying from the grain mill is costly. I found a farmer with wheat, oats and barley averaging $320 a ton. corn is not a big grower in Oregon. My pastures are far from supporting pigs and focused on the sheep, and the recently logged hillside still need fences before they can go up there. so grain based feed it is for now. I'mgo ing to not bother with feeders over the winter. just brood sows.

When i read up on creating a diet there is so much contradictory info. only x % of this grain, no! its okay in this percent! arg!

I'm thinking to make a mix with 50% wheat, 25% oats and 25% barley. Of course, unless i sprout it it will be only 12% protein. I;d like to avoid soy if possible, so i need to find another source of protein with lysine. I'm still trying to source a dairy.

ideas?

·
Registered
45 Posts
I am not an expert by an means and I am not great at figuring everything out. We feed sprouted wheat and dairy here in Oregon. We have found sprouting the diversity you mention in quantity in the winter here was difficult. We get better results with just wheat. We keep our own cows for the milk portion.

·
Premium Member
3,201 Posts
I'm looking to make my own feed. buying from the grain mill is costly. I found a farmer with wheat, oats and barley averaging $320 a ton. corn is not a big grower in Oregon. My pastures are far from supporting pigs and focused on the sheep, and the recently logged hillside still need fences before they can go up there. so grain based feed it is for now. I'mgo ing to not bother with feeders over the winter. just brood sows.

When i read up on creating a diet there is so much contradictory info. only x % of this grain, no! its okay in this percent! arg!