Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
933 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My one year old son just went off of baby formula and onto whole cows milk and is having problems digesting it. (Spitting up a lot and smells really yuck)
We've been thinking about a dairy goat for a while now so this seems like a good time to do it. Have lots of goat experience but not with dairy breeds. What type would you guys recommend and also any other advice would be appreciated. Thanks! Kathy :)

·
Knitting Rocks!
5,783 Posts
Hearstrings, I am by no means an expert, but I have an opinion! lol!
I am milking a nubian, an alpine and an alpine mix right now. The Alpine and Nubian are neck to neck for favorite. They are both heavy milkers with rich creamy sweat milk. We drink raw, and my children have done well on it.
My DS#3 had the same problems as yours with store bought milk (and they got worse!), when we went to raw cows milk for him he did great, so I would encourage you to get a milk goat soon, or locate the milk if you can.
I know lots more folks will speak up and we all have our different breeds. Pick what works for you, taste the milk first and have fun!

·
Icelandic Sheep
3,348 Posts
I think the Weston A. Price Foundation (natural health foundation) has a recipe for goat's milk infant formula. I believe the website is: www.westonaprice.org

As for a dairy goat recommendation, I'd recommend either nubians or alpines. I think they have the best tasting milk. Now I'll get flamed by all the people who keep other breeds. LOL :)

Here's a brief excerpt from "Home Cheese Making" by Ricki Carroll:

"... If you are looking for your own goats, Nubians and Alpines are good producers and tend to have the sweetest milk. Saanens often produce more milk, but it has a stronger flavor. Toggenburgs produce a slightly lower yield, but also a strong flavor."

Flame Ricki Carroll, folks. Not me :)

RedTartan

·
Registered
3,177 Posts