Cutting flowers

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by HilltopDaisy, Dec 18, 2005.

1. HilltopDaisy

HilltopDaisy Well-Known Member Supporter

I would love to have a nice area of cutting flowers but I have limited experience. Most of what I've grown in the past doesn't stay nice for very long once it's cut. I'm thinking zinnias, and maybe taller marigolds. Any suggestions?

2. cherig22

cherig22 Active Member

There are varieties of mini sunflowers, they grow pretty fast. Used for cut flowers rather than seed.

Others are mums, carnations, old species shurb roses (not as difficult as hybrids), daisies.....

My favorite thing to do is look through seed catalogs. Especially in winter!

Cheri

3. Cyngbaeld

Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter

Sweet peas. Everlastings. Statice. Daisies.

4. dlangland

dlangland dlangland

Calendula is nice, and has a lot of uses, plus it's edible. Calendula biscuits are really neat. Daisies are probably my favorite, even though they don't last that long, but they are one of the first to do it's thing in the spring. Sweet William is precious, but it's a bi-annual. It lasts a long time if you cut it just as it's starting to bloom. Last yr. for my daughter's graduation I cut a lot of that and brought in. Deb

5. Marcia in MT

Marcia in MT Well-Known Member Supporter

A few of my favorites:
    Gloriosa daisies (rudbeckia)
    Statice
    Zinnias
    Scabiosa (Pincushion Flower)
    Snapdragons

Germania Seed Co in Chicago has lots of recommendations, as does Johnny's. The newsletter "Growing for Market" has a regular column and several references, plus the editor is a flower farmer. Even if you don't plan to grow cutting flowers on a large basis, it's nice to know what's out there. And most grow from seed, although there are started plants, too.

6. hisenthlay

hisenthlay a.k.a. hyzenthlay

I'm doing this for the first time next year too. Any advice you guys have for newbies, generally, would be appreciated.