curing meat

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by unixguy, Dec 10, 2004.

1. unixguy

unixguy Member

Good Afternoon;

As you know from my pervious posts, I am new at this. We raised two pigs to slaughter weight, and put them into the freezer, And most things went pretty well
    but we are having some (more) questions...

We slaughtered the pigs on Saturday, and while it pretty smoothly, there are things that we are going to do diffierently next time: better fencing (the pig left in the pen wanted to get dispatched WITH his sibling, not after, or so it seemed).
    A larger scalding tank ( we had to quarter the hog to dip it after pouring in on thru burlap didn't work very well ), and a different gun ( the .22 rifle was just unweildly, would have been safer with a .22 pistol ).

Most of the hair was singed off with a propane torch, and they hung for two days before I butchered it out and put the hams and bacons in to cure.

They had been in a brine solution for 3 1/2 weeks when I took a sample...
    The ham appeard to be coming along, but not done- We roasted 1/2 a ham and some of the meat was pink, and some of the meat was greyish when cooked. It tasted mostly like ham, but clearly needed more time.

The bacon was EXTREMLY salty, and did not appeared to be cured at all... Cooked up entirely greyish.

Both have been in a brownsugar/salt/saltpetre solution for the same length of time.

Should I be worried? What should I do now?

Thanks
    Unixguy

2. bare

bare Head Muderator

Wow, sounds like a painful experience.

I usually start out by skinning. I don't let them hang any longer than it takes to cool the carcass and get them butchered as soon as possible.

You shouldn't just toss the pieces in the brine, you need to inject the brine into the meat and then soak them. Several days, depending on the temperature should be more than sufficient.

When it comes out of the brine, it goes into the smoker where it gets hot smoked to (I don't remember) 180 degrees?