Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well this is my first year for having a CSA and my last. It just isn't for me. Too much stress worrying about what will I have, is it enough, will people be satisfied etc...etc...
Have always done the farmers market and this year added the CSA, thinking to replace the market next year. But I actually think the market is a better fit for me. If I don't have enough to sell I don't go, simple. I take what I have and people buy it. I get to talk to lots of people which I enjoy.
The CSA I have met some nice people but have also met some pains in ***.
I may join another market closer to home too instead of the CSA.
What do other CSA farmers think, what is your experience? Lisa

·
Adventuress--Definition 2
4,174 Posts
I let 60lbs of "no spray but perfect" apricots rot on the ground rather than sell them in front of my commercially zoned home--no restrictions. I'm doing the same with my figs. I doubt I could ever do a CSA--far too much pressure to perform--perfectionists make lousy gardeners I think. I guess this is my simple way of saying do what makes you comfortable and don't let anyone tell you that's wrong. (Someday I hope to be brave enough to sell my crops...not yet.)

·
keep it simple and honest
3,810 Posts
Last year, my first year, was dreadful due to the flooding which washed out things or made them rot.
This year there are times when I wish I didn't have it and the anxiety, but the good points are still there.
If you promote the CSA as a partnership where both farmer and eater are taking part in the risk of Mother Nature's wrath, you may not be so anxious. I told them at one point this year that I was keeping track of the products, and if the amount didn't add up to their membership fee, I'd reimburse them for the difference, so now I don't feel so uptight each week. A few have told me that they are more than satisfied.