Crops for roadside sale?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Sinenian, Mar 25, 2006.

1. Sinenian

Sinenian Well-Known Member

I am new to homesteading, and only a teen.
    My family has always had a small vegtable garden for ourselves to save on grocery bill and such.

This year I am 'practising' - rasing rabbits to sell as pets and taking 2/3 of our garden and raising the crops for our own use.

Next year though, I will be taking a large lot and be raising crops to sell on a roadside stand. I have already OKed this with my parents. (I will also be switching from selling pet rabbits to selling meat rabbits).

My question is - what type of vegtables do you think will do best on a roadside stand?

These are the vegtables I think I will raise:

-Sweetcorn
    -Tomatoes
    -Cucumbers
    -Peppers

^Those are the crops that do the best in my area and I have figured will bring in a better profit than others.

Do these sound good? Any suggestions of other vegtables? (Potatoes, Yams, etc do not grow good in my yard).

Thanks!

2. BillyGoat

BillyGoat Well-Known Member

I don't know what area you are in, but tomatoes sale good eveywhere and corn pretty good too.

I am impressed with your plans at your young age, and good learning experience for you too!! :clap:

3. MaineFarmMom

MaineFarmMom Columnist, Feature Writer

4. Maura

Maura Well-Known Member Supporter

If you plant lettuce with tomatoes, the lettuce will keep the tomatoes from becoming too acidic, even if left on the vine to ripen. By the way, once the tomatoes have begun to change color, they are finished with the vine. You can pick them and bring them inside to safety. Carrots are also a good companion plant with tomatoes. I would encircle the tomatoe bed with carrots (intensive gardening).