coyotes

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by perennial, May 25, 2006.

1. perennial

perennial Well-Known Member

Do coyotes sound like dogs barking? We live rural and never hear dogs - there really aren't any where we are except for a poor old 3 legged one down a ways. Never heard any dogs and last night i heard tons - it sounded like a kennel.

I'm new to rural living so don't know too much about wild life yet.

2. FreightTrain

FreightTrain Well-Known Member

coyotes yelp, howl, growl and bark same as dogs

3. Wolf mom

Wolf mom Well-Known Member

You can also hear them yelping back and forth from one ridge to the next.
    I think what makes them distinctive is their yiiippping and high pitch.

Pretty cool & sometimes hair raising.

I contain my dogs at night as they run in packs & can go after dogs.

4. perennial

One of my cats usually sits under our deck or on top of the deck and she wouldn't budge and come in last night. Finally, when she did she didn't even try to be let out later. I know cats are a delicacy of coyotes, but i have
    a cat that will just make me insane if i try to keep her in all night. I have
    been trying to let her stay out until i go to bed and then let her in so she
    will stay in and be quiet. Because we had lived in a surburb in MA they were used to staying out all night and the worst they might encounter is a skunk.