Cough

Discussion in 'Goats' started by christij, Oct 25, 2006.

1. christij

christij Well-Known Member

I mentioned this earlier but I thought it had went away....

I have a 3yo Nubian and I thought maybe at first it was just something she got in her nose while eating that made her snort.... but now I Am not so sure.

When ever it gets cool, wet and windy I notice this occasional cough.. I have heard it a couple times in the field and in her stall. This morning all the hay was gone when I got to her this morning and I heard her snort/cough.

The local farm store doesn't carry much. I went looking for VetX which someone suggested and that was a no go... they do have pennicillin but I didn't want to give her something that she didn't need....

:shrug: I am a newbie so any help is appreicated!

TIA.
    Christie

2. malickfarms

malickfarms Well-Known Member

I have a Lamancha that always seems to have a 'on off' cough

Vet has looked her over and me being paranoid all the time, says it just could be a 'Dora' thing. Dora is her name.

I have found if I give her LA 200 when it gets cold and crappy out--seems to help out. Plus Pro Bios really helps. I only give her LA200 for a few days.

I get it at TSC

April

3. christij

Pro Bios I have! I don't know why I didn't think of that!!!! I prefer less drugs anyway.... =) And I am the paranoid type! Do you have to order LA200? I'm not fimilar with it...

4. malickfarms

malickfarms Well-Known Member

I can get LA 200 at TSC? Do you have a Tractor Supply Co.?

you can also order it from Hoegger's goat store online or catalog.

They love honey also, Ive given warm water with a bit of honey. She goes nut-so over it!

LA 200 is a mild antibiotic.

April

5. ozark_jewels

ozark_jewels Well-Known Member Supporter