Cost of Jerseys

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by willow_girl, Oct 31, 2005.

1. willow_girl

willow_girl Very Dairy

Yes ... there are a lot of variables that affect the price!

If you're in the market to buy, PLEASE make sure the cow has a negative Johne's test ... even if you have to pay for it yourself. As the song says, "Don't ask me how I know ..." :(

2. MissKitty

MissKitty Mrs. no longer OldGrouch.

I am no expert by any means, but I can tell you what I know...We raise and milk registered Jerseys..Our first milk cow was a 3 year old registered Jersey...she was 7 months into lactation...Got her from a dairy...She was pregnant by a top bull with the AJCA-Windy Willow Montana Jace...Very gentle and broke to lead...
    They deliveried her to our farm and had the registeration papers changed...we paid $1400.00 for her...a GREAT deal...we have been offer $2000 for her heifer calf...and $3000 for her...not selling though...We had quite a time finding just the right cow...most want to sell off their culls and problem cows...Do some looking and a talking...check with any dairies around you...good luck...WE LOVE OUR COWS...she will have another calf somewhere around the 16th of Nov....MissKItty

3. JeffNY

JeffNY Seeking Type