Corrugated metal siding/roofing

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Oggie, Jan 18, 2005.

1. Oggie

Oggie Waste of bandwidth Supporter

I need to build a new shed, approx 8x8, to house our water system pressure tank and other misc. stuff. My wife admires an old shed she saw while traveling that was roofed and sided with corrugated steel - the old-fashioned kind with the evenly-spaced "hills and valleys".

I've never worked with this stuff before. Can it be cut with a 7 1/4 circular saw? What about the roof ridge? If I put it over plywood sheeting do I need ventilation? Would that create a great home for mud daubers and rodents? Ant tips on trimming it out?

As you can tell, I don't have much of a clue. But folks have been using this stuff for years and it's on a whole bunch of country outbuildings.

My internet searches for info take me to manufacturers of fancy new steel "roofing and siding systems". I'm just looking for tips on how to put up the ripply silver stuff. Or is it even a good idea?

2. Darren

Darren Still an :censored:

I've seen two sizes of corrugations. The older deep/large (old fashioned) corrugation is still made but I haven't seen it locally for some time. The local hardware/building supply and feed stores locally carry the sheets with smaller corrugations. You can cut it with a circular saw with a special blade that's made for that purpose AND some sort of hearing protection.

I've never seen it put over plywood but there's no reason it couldn't. Usually it's nailed onto purlins which runs across the rafters. Keep in mind uninsulated metal roofing will sweat. Anything inside will get "rained on" depending on conditions. This is a common situation in metal pole barns. I'm not sure ventilation will completely eliminate the problem.