Considering a career in carpentry

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by futurefarmer, Aug 1, 2005.

1. futurefarmer

futurefarmer New Member

Hi Everyone. This is my first posting, but I've been reading this board for weeks and have learned so much. Thanks to everyone!

I'm 23 years old and have had a couple of jobs. I've been a cook, worked in retail and currently work for a large security company. I've never had a "career" or learned a trade. More than anything in the world I want to live sustainably off of the land on my own small farm/ranch/homestead. This has been my dream since high school, but only recently have I been taking any steps towards it.

In regards to my future plans, I feel like it would be very valuable to learn a "trade". I've given this much thought and have decided that I would like to pursue carpentry. I've discovered online that it is possible to do an apprenticeship through a carpenter's union and essentially get paid as you learn on the job and in the classroom. This sounds like a good idea to me and I intend to contact the United Brotherhood of Carpenters within the next couple of days to inquire about an apprenticeship.

My question is this...

Have any of you carpenters learned in this way (through an apprenticeship)? Are any of you members of a union? What are some of the pros and cons of being in a union? What exactly does a union do? Would I have an obligation to the union after my apprenticehip is over? What can I do to maximize my possibilities of being accepted to an aprenticeship position? Please let me know of anything else that may be helpful to me.

Sorry for the long post with SO MANY QUESTIONS, and thank you in advance for any help you may be able to give.

-futurefarmer :D

2. mtman

mtman Well-Known Member

why waite call now

3. Ed K

Ed K Well-Known Member