Conflicting Reports of Problems

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by MeanDean, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. MeanDean

    MeanDean that geeky admin guy

    Messages:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    the Peak of good living
    Okay folks, it is hard for me to fix something unless I can get clear consistent reports of what's wrong and how to reproduce it.

    Links and page titles help big time. Enumeration such as "step 1, step 2..." also help.

    I've been trying to follow what some of you have posted, but can't reproduce anything wrong.
     
  2. Becky H.

    Becky H. Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    720
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Dean, it started when teh 2 gc threads got locked.
     

  3. roughingit

    roughingit knitwit

    Messages:
    660
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    When I click on a main subject headers, I get this message:

    I am able to click on the "most recently replied to topic" on the side, but I can't get to the main topic list for any of the forums.

    I got the same message if I used the normal reply to button instead of quick reply.
     
  4. Becky H.

    Becky H. Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    720
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    Mississippi
    We can send PM's back and forth though.
     
  5. heather

    heather Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,780
    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Location:
    western PA
    I get the same thing as roughinit

    I actually don't even know how I'm posting this! I think I hit the little page to the right of the Quote button on roughinit's post & then it shot me into this Quick Reply box
     
  6. Wendy

    Wendy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,312
    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Location:
    SE Indiana
    I get the homepage, but when I click on a forum I get a message saying:

    There seems to have been a slight problem with the Homesteading Today database.
    Please try again by pressing the refresh button in your browser.

    An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, who you can also contact if the problem persists.

    We apologise for any inconvenience.

    If I click on a thread from the homepage, it will go to that thread, but I can not go to an individual forum from anywhere. :( I can also only use the quick reply & not the other reply option. Clicking the refresh button does nothing.
     
  7. crashy

    crashy chickaholic goddess

    Messages:
    2,740
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver,Washington
    I can quick reply but I can't go into any forums either.
     
  8. roughingit

    roughingit knitwit

    Messages:
    660
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    Heather- That is the quick reply button! :)

    Recap- For anyone reading this that would like to say something but can't figure out how, the quick reply button is the square button to the right of the quote button. Clicking this will activate a dialog box at the bottom of the screen that you can type a post into.

    Also, the "Quote" button brings up the same error
     
  9. heather

    heather Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,780
    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Location:
    western PA
    Obviously :( it takes a CRISIS for me to learn about the Quick Reply button! ha!

    And YES - this IS a crisis
     
  10. Wendy

    Wendy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,312
    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Location:
    SE Indiana
    I agree! Major withdrawal!!! :D
     
  11. Paranoid

    Paranoid Homebrewed Happiness

    Messages:
    602
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Z9
    The board software is out of date http://www.vbulletin.com/download.php has the updated version that fixes some exploits.

    perhaps thats the problem, perhaps not, but upgrading is probably necessary anyway, and upgrading usually fixes these types of things as a happy coincidence
     
  12. Don Armstrong

    Don Armstrong In Remembrance

    Messages:
    1,607
    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Location:
    central New South Wales, Australia
    Any moderator can access their own forums from the main page.

    I can access the full-reply page, not just the quick-reply, from any threads I can get to. I don't know whether that applies to other mods or not.
     
  13. Highground

    Highground Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    529
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    WV
    It's gotta be that *** **** Bush's fault. Or maybe Cheney. No wait, I bet it's that ex FEMA guy gettin even.
     
  14. roughingit

    roughingit knitwit

    Messages:
    660
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    More experimenting:

    The top menu underneath the logo will take me to the main page and it will even take me to the general homesteading forums page, just not to the forums within. When I go to the general forums page, I can't access them from there either.
     
  15. starjj

    starjj Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    3,512
    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    KY South Central
    Seeing if quick reply works for me. I can't access any of the forums I am going into withdrawl :(.
     
  16. Don Armstrong

    Don Armstrong In Remembrance

    Messages:
    1,607
    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Location:
    central New South Wales, Australia
    It's not that easy. This is a BIG site, and you can't just wheel in a new version of software without extensive testing and whatever tweaking may be necessary. They've only just done that.


    Possibly true. The threads needed locking - Chuck's exhortation to "be nice" was long forgotten, and any rational posters were being drowned by the heat and noise. :monkey: Right, Becky H? :D If those threads need deleting it would be little loss. Right? :nana: Although it would probably be better to let people save what they wanted out of them first. :shrug:
     
  17. oz in SC

    oz in SC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,687
    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Location:
    SC and soon to be NC
    I missed some threads eing locked???

    Darn!!!

    Was it a good fight?

    LOL....
     
  18. Shepherd

    Shepherd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,499
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    IA
    Sorry I haven't read what the others posted cause it's late and I'm tired. I pull up the main forum page and if I click on "Homesteading Questions" to see the various topics I'd like to read, I get a page that says:

    "There seems to have been a slight problem with the Homesteading Today database.
    Please try again by pressing the refresh button in your browser.

    An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, who you can also contact if the problem persists.

    We apologise for any inconvenience."

    When I click on "Countryside Families", I get the same message.

    I took a chance on the "Homesteading Questions" where it showed the Last Post: "Conflicting Reports of..." in the next column and was able to at least get to this thread.

    I took a chance under "Countryside Families" and clicked on the Last post: "Nicknames of your Children" and could get to that too... but that appears to be the only way I can get into anything.

    Bummer. I hope that helps Dean.
     
  19. Paranoid

    Paranoid Homebrewed Happiness

    Messages:
    602
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Z9
    well if its not the frontend, it's the backend. run a repair on the sql.

    under phpmyadmin check the broken tables and browse down the page, from that drop down box, select optimize. When done, do the same again, but this time repair.
     
  20. Snowdancer

    Snowdancer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,828
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Location:
    Dyersville, Iowa
    ok, if I go CF, HQ or the Admins forums; I can access the thread that's showing up on the main page of HT but I can't open the whole index of threads in any forum.
    I can then access other threads in the same forum by using the previous thread option at the bottom.
    I can't use the post reply button but quick reply works so far.