Composting toilets

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by countrygrrrl, Feb 28, 2004.

1. countrygrrrl

countrygrrrl PITA

Okay. After a year and a half of fretting over it :rolleyes: , I've finally decided to make my own composting toilet.

I think when I started painting the small rusted (and ugly!!) steel building I'd been planning to knock over :) with the intention of turning it into a little composting center :) , I secretly made up my mind.

Of course, spending months pouring over the prices of composting toilets :eek: and balking at every turn was clue as well.

So I have the humanure book. And an old barn (which is fixing to come down) full of straw.

I even accidentally bought peat moss last week. :D

What do I do now? Beyond the bucket, that is.

2. Swampdweller

Swampdweller Well-Known Member

Well, you'll need a good supply of organic toilet paper...

3. Oggie

Oggie Waste of bandwidth Supporter

We tried composting toilets once. Even though they were in the composting pile for months and months, the porcelain never seemed to break down much at all.

(I know I'm not helping very much.)

4. countrygrrrl

countrygrrrl PITA

Oh very funny!

In any case, I have all my little plans downloaded and kind of a good idea :eek: of how I'm going to go about it. I figure I should have everything set up in about two weeks.

I can't believe how excited I am about this. Of course, given how much I've worried over it for months now, it's just a relief to finally make up my mind (not to mention, save a couple thousand dollars! :D )

5. BCR

BCR Well-Known Member

An article about Japanese strawberries, that I read recently, said they grew so large because they used 'night soil'. I think your idea is a wonderful one and I commend you for doing it. Good luck.

6. TexasMom

TexasMom Member