Composting and worm bins

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by botesbabe, Jan 12, 2007.

1. botesbabe

botesbabe Active Member

Hi all! I am a newbie here and was wondering if someone could direct me to the correct area to read up on composting and worm bin info. I am having a hard time locating them on here.....

Thanks in advance!!

Tonya :doh:

2. Meg Z

Meg Z winding down

Hi botesbabe, welcome in the door!

There's not a forum dedicated to composting and worms, but if you use the search button up at the top, you'll get lots of threads. Good luck!

Meg

3. catmar

catmar Well-Known Member

I started with a worm bin a few years ago as a project with my DS.

A great starter book is "Worms ate my garbage"

I ordered from this site, it had alot of information. Worm bins aren't hard to keep, I rather enjoy it. So does my DS & garden.

http://www.wormwoman.com/acatalog/index.html

4. Bearfootfarm

Bearfootfarm Hello, hello....is there anybody in there.....? Supporter

Google "vermiculture" and youll find hundreds of references

5. Mid Tn Mama

Mid Tn Mama Well-Known Member Supporter

Gardenweb has a vermicomposting forum. Many of us do it here.

I started mine by drilling holes in a rubberm*d container. Except I put no holes in the bottom two inches. This is because I didn't want drainage out the bottom. For drainage, I put big pieces of styrofoam in the bottom, covered with an old shirt (any cloth will do). This keeps the compost and worms out of any drainage at the bottom (protects the worms from drowning).

Then I soaked, squeeze out excess liquid and layered my stuff to be composted, added the worms. I put a damp section of newspaper on the top to discourage fly larvae. It worked.

There was no smell. I did this in my garage in the winter. Took about three months for them to turn the shredded cardboard, etc. into vermicompost.

6. Meg Z

Meg Z winding down